Press Release: Tiki Barber To Host “Hollywood’s Gridiron Greats” on Reelz

TIKI BARBER TO HOST “HOLLYWOOD’S GRIDIRON GREATS” ON REELZ

REELZ Special Highlights NFL Players Turned Movie Stars and Actors Who Played Pigskin Pros as well as Legendary Football Movies

“Hollywood’s Gridiron Greats” Makes its Primetime Premiere Saturday, January 28 at 7:30pm ET/ 4:30pm PT


(Albuquerque, N.M.) Wednesday, January 18, 2012—REELZCHANNEL—TV About Movies® today announced TV personality and former NFL star Tiki Barber will host the REELZ Special “Hollywood’s Gridiron Greats”. REELZ is highlighting the NFL stars that have gone from the field to the big screen, including NFL legends Lawrence Taylor, Howie Long, Brett Favre and more. Plus, we’ll put the spotlight on actors who boosted their careers by tackling roles as football players—from Cuba Gooding, Jr. in Jerry Maguire and Sean Astin in Rudy to Mark Wahlberg in Invincible and Burt Reynolds in The Longest Yard. REELZ movie reviewer Richard Roeper will share his pigskin picks for the best football movies ever made and take a fun look at some football movie fumbles.

“With the Super Bowl almost upon us, we’re celebrating two of America’s favorite pastimes—football and movies,” said Steve Holzer, Executive Producer of REELZCHANNEL Original Programming. “Tiki is the perfect host as he’ll give our viewers a unique perspective given his pro football career and time in front of the camera as an entertainer and TV host.”

Tiki Barber played ten seasons in the NFL, retiring as the New York Giants all time leading rusher, while earning three Pro Bowl selections. Upon retirement from the NFL, he began a career in television working as a correspondent on the Today Show and also co-hosting NBC’s 66th Golden Globe Awards pre-show with Nancy O’Dell and Brooke Burke. Barber has also co-hosted Fox & Friends and covered the 2008 Summer Olympics for MSNBC and was a commentator for Yahoo! Sports for the 2010 Winter Olympics.

Encore Presentations for “Hollywood’s Gridiron Greats”

Saturday, January 28
12am ET/ 9pm PT
1:30am ET/ 10:30pm PT
3:30am ET/ 12:30am PT



Sunday, January 29
9am ET/ 6am PT
3:30am ET/ 12:30am PT


Monday, January 30
8:30am ET/ 5:30am PT
2:30am ET/ 11:30pm PT


Tuesday January, 31
11:30am ET/ 8:30am PT

Wednesday, February 1
8:30am ET/ 5:30am PT
2:30am ET/ 11:30pm PT



About REELZCHANNEL
REELZCHANNEL—TV About Movies® is the only cable and satellite network devoted to delivering entertaining and informative programming that is all about movies, including the celebrities, fashion, music and stories behind the stories. With shows featuring movie and entertainment experts, including Leonard Maltin, Richard Roeper, Sam Rubin and John Salley, viewers get trusted insight into movies wherever they’re playing, whether in theaters or at home.

REELZCHANNEL reaches more than 60 million homes on DIRECTV channel 238, Dish Network channel 299, Verizon FiOS TV channel 233, AT&T U-verse channels 799/1799HD and cable systems nationwide. Find REELZCHANNEL in your area by entering your zip code at www.reelz.com/watch. Owned by Hubbard Media Group, REELZCHANNEL is headquartered in Albuquerque, NM with an entertainment bureau in Los Angeles and sales office in New York.

This entry was posted in MAXX Client News. Bookmark the permalink.